School Governors

The Governing Body at Chestnut Lane School is made up of a range of volunteers from the community, teaching staff and parents who work together to ensure the best possible education for every child at the School. The Governing Body is responsible for working with the Headteacher and her leadership team and staff to set the strategic direction of the school and its targets in order to provide the optimum progress for all our pupils during their time at the School.

The Governing Body members bring a wealth of skills and experience to the Board from various sectors including finance, education, IT and HR. All governors undertake a period of training and have specific responsibilities including teaching and learning, financial management, special educational needs, child protection, pay and personnel, equality and health and safety.

There are four main committees that meet at least once a term in addition to the full Governing Body meetings. These committees have the responsibility to set the policies for the school and to monitor, review and assist with the activities that are within the scope of the committee. Governors undertake class visits, individual meetings and updates with staff members, attendance at school events and seek parental feedback and ideas through amongst other things an annual questionnaire of parents. The questionnaire provides us with important, confidential feedback on how you feel the school is performing, where we have got things right and where we can improve. We report our findings, along with improvement initiatives, by letter to parents.

There are four types of governor on the Governing Body: co-opted governors, staff governors; parent governors and a local authority appointed governor. The list of governors is below.

To contact any of the governors please email or telephone the school office. Alternatively, email the Chair at

Chair of Governors

  • Mrs Christine Plimsaul - LA Governor 

Vice Chair of Governors

  • Mrs Valerie Simmonds - Co-opted Governor

Staff Governors

  • Mrs Gemma Rehal - Headteacher 
  • Mrs Megan Harper - Staff Governor 

Co-opted Governors

  • Mr Tom Burkinshaw - Safeguarding Governor
  • Mrs Clare Atkinson
  • Mr Andrew Cook
  • Mrs Ann Rowland
  • Mrs Nicola Vamos
  • Mrs Aditi Zutshi

Parent Governors

  • Mrs Rebecca Bailey
  • Miss Ilona Verrek

Associate Governors

  • Mrs Louise Naidoo 
  • Mr Hosam El Nagar
  • RRSA Level2 logo 2.png
  • wellbeing-award-for-schools.png
  • RHS Five Star Gardening School Logo.png
  • Woodland Trust Platinum colour.png
  • child-concern_180x150.jpg